The International Stevia Council (ISC) consists of a General Assembly, a Board of Directors and an Executive Committee. The ISC has two continuous Committees as well as several Working Group and Task Forces which are established on the basis of the activities and the projects that the Council wishes to carry out.  

The ISC follows a set of governing rules known as the Bylaws of the Association. 

Click here for Word Version of Bylaws / Click here for PDF version of the Bylaws

General Assembly 

The General Assembly consists of all International Stevia Council’s members, Full and Associate Members. The General Assembly: 

  1. Considers the Executive Director’s annual report on the activities of the Council during the previous year and plans for the coming year
  2. Considers and agrees upon the accounts of the previous year and the budget for the coming year
  3. Elects the Board of Directors and the President, Vice-President and Treasurer of the Council

Board of Directors 

The Council is managed by a Board of Directors whose members are appointed by the General Assembly for a two-year period. The responsibilities of the Board of Directors include: 

  1. Managing the business and affairs of the International Stevia Council
  2. Setting the overall strategic directions of the Council
  3. Making an annual report to the General Assembly. 

For the period 2023-2024, the Board of Directors is composed of the following five Directors (in alphabetical order by member company):  

  • Andrew Ohmes – Avansya
  • Imad Farhat – Firmenich 
  • Nate Yates - PureCircle by Ingredion
  • Luca Giannone – SweeGen 
  • Juan Cristián Santa Maria – Tate & Lyle 

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee executes those powers conferred upon it by the Board of Directors. The Executive Committee consists of the President, Vice-President and Treasurer of the Council and of the Executive Director in a consultative capacity. 

For the period 2023-2024, the Executive Committee is elected during the General Assembly and is composed of: 

  • President: Andrew Ohmes (Avansya)
  • Vice President: Juan Cristián Santa Maria (Tate & Lyle)
  • Treasurer: Imad Farhat (Firmenich)